Stage and Type (emotion and expression)

Don’t stuff your emotions. It’s normal to have a strong emotional response to a serious diagnosis. It’s part of the grieving process and it’s common for patients, and those close to them. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance are the five stages of grief. (Taken from The Grief Cycle model first published in On Death & Dying, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, 1969.) The stages are all natural to experience, and will vary in degree from person to person.

Some people prefer to talk about their treatment for cancer, and their experiences. Others don’t want to talk about it at all. For the synergistic type, there are support groups, one-to-one counseling, and people close to you with whom you may find support. Folks with a more analytical edge may find journaling helpful. They may also prefer to visit websites, on-line chat groups, message boards and blogs.

Here are some reputable cancer related sites:;;;  Whatever site you visit, don’t take any information as absolute truth. This blog included. Situations are so individual. What may work for one person, may not work for another.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s