Giving Thanks


I’ve heard some say they’re grateful for cancer. I can’t say I am, but gratitude is very important to me and I can say I maintained gratitude throughout the cancer process.

For five months, the walls in my living room became a “Wall of Gratitude.” I’d write down events, people, or things for which I was grateful. Visitors were thrilled to see their name on the wall, and they’d often tell me they’re favorite one to read. (A friend who loves trees was pleased I included “shade tress” on my list. Another friend laughed—but understood gratitude for “bodily functions.”)

It comes down to perspective. Even on really rough days, there are people and things for which you can be in gratitude.

What’s on your gratitude list?

Leave a Reply

