Fiber Muffin Recipe


Below is a recipe right off the back of the Bob’s Red Mill flaxseed Meal package.

I loving call these fiber muffins, “Power Bars.” They’re great to have after surgery—when all the medication has thrown you off. I make them without baking powder (I never use it) or nuts, and freeze them. I take one out the night before I know I’ll have it. They are super moist, and effective. . .

I’ve only had one person look at me cockeyed when I enthusiastically offered, “Want a fiber muffin?” Everyone else has loved these.

Enjoy!

  • 1 1/2 cups Unbleached White Flour
  • 3/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill Flaxseed Meal
  • 3/4 cup Oat Bran
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups Carrots, shredded
  • 2 Apples, peeled and shredded
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1 cup Nuts, chopped (optional)
  • 3/4 cup Milk
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla

Mix together Flour, Flaxseed Meal, Oat Bran, Brown Sugar, Baking Soda, Salt, Cinnamon in a large bowl. Stir in Carrots, Apples, Raisins, Nuts. Combine Milk, Beaten Eggs and Vanilla. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients. Stir until ingredients are moistened. Do Not over mix. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake @ 350º F for 15-20 minutes. Yields 15 medium muffins.

2 thoughts on “Fiber Muffin Recipe

  1. These sound really good. Being me I have to change the recipe a bit but only two things. 1) I’ll use wheat bran in place of the oat bran. (Wheat bran has much more fiber then the oat.) and 2) since I’m not a raisins fan I’ll chop up “dried plums” *wink wink* instead. I’m having surgery later this month and am getting ready by making lots of single serving meals, some goodies AND some after surgery & meds fiberific muffins. These will be great for that time. Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

