Got Attitude?


Thanks Google Image for photo

“You’ve gotta ac-cent-u-ate the positive. E-lim-in-ate the negative. Latch-on to the affirmative. Don’t mess with Mr. In-Between. . .”

I was raised to see the world in a positive light. In high school, to my advantage, my mom told my dad that I see the world through rose-colored glasses. My dad told her to get me a new pair. After college, I dated a man for a short time. He felt the world was out to get him, and everyone should be behave better than they were. I felt the Universe supported me, and everyone was doing the best they could at any particular moment. One day, in public, he’d had enough. Ranting how “Pollyanna” I was. It didn’t take me long to look back and see the gift I received was his breaking up with me two days before Valentine’s.

You don’t have to be thankful for cancer. You don’t have to put up with nonsense from anyone. You do have to realize that only you can change your thoughts. If you don’t change them, you’ll continue to get more of the same—and if you don’t like what you’ve been getting, then you’re at fault for not taking action, beginning with your thoughts.

I find this really funny. During cancer we hear the importance of a good attitude. But what do we read? “War on cancer!” “Another arsenal in cancer war!” “Kill the cells!” “Smart chemo bomb” “Fight and Battle it!” “Kick it’s butt, it sucks”— and on and on. . . It isn’t an easy journey! But what we fight to get, we fight to keep. Focus on the health, not the cancer. Energy flows where attention goes. If we focus on health throughout language, thoughts and actions, we’re more likely to achieve it with ease than if we focus on beating cancer. This doesn’t mean skip appointments or medication. It means being aware of conversations in which you engage, including self-talk. Go have fun today. Take in life. Know you’re supported by life, and when you pass by the mirror, turn and give a wink, or thumbs up! If you’re not familiar with the song, Accentuate the Positive, give it a listen. (iTunes has lots of versions.)


2 thoughts on “Got Attitude?

Leave a Reply

