After Another Surgery


gummy_bear_surgery_05 image credit: Good Search

 

Well, here I am again. Recovering from another surgery. This makes it seven. I’ve said, “Done” so many times, that this time I felt more comfortable—if only to side-step a jinx to leave surgery-recovery as quietly as I could, drugged up and dry-heaving.

 

Stage four, no evidence of disease. That’s a celebration in itself. Six months ago I had the much talked-up newly FDA approved gummy bear implants. After that surgery, I was much larger than I wanted, and I hurt far more than after other reconstruction surgeries. The pain after the much touted gummy bear implants was unbelievable. I cried from slightly shifting my body, or breathing deeply. I couldn’t stand up straight. The implants where too heavy for me, and pulled my back muscle to the extent of being given muscle relaxers. In addition to being in pain, my posture was slanted—which I found horrifying, as I have great posture. I felt matronly and frumpy. Hugs hurt not only me, but the other person. It was like having two bricks in my shirt pocket. People would repel from me in shock.

 

Enough. I didn’t go through all this cancer stuff to be disappointed with my new equipment.

 

I got a new surgeon. Our first meeting was me telling her I expected to be listened to. Our second meeting was her drawing on me, where she’d cut. I’m now smaller in implant size, far more comfortable, and I have the frame of a tall, thin woman with great posture again.

 

There aren’t many choices of styles and brands in breast implants, so do the best you can in communicating with your surgeon. If they say something that doesn’t make sense, call them on it. I did this time and time again. I’m not sure where my surgeon and I fell out, but I do know it was early on, and I stayed with them too long. I was told thinner women were more comfortable with this new implant. That was absolutely not true for me. I was also told the new implant wouldn’t have a “step” appearance. (I didn’t have one the implant being replaced, so it didn’t mean anything to me.) With the new implant, I had a “step.” I was also told the “teardrop” shape looked more natural. I hated it. “Natural” was code for low-hanging fruit. Doctors sometimes tell a patient, “You know your body.”—and disregard it. I hope you have a great surgeon/patient relationship. They don’t need to be your buddy, but they do need to listen to you. If you’re having communication break down with your surgeon ask the office what other surgeons there are like. Ask other patients.

 

related post: gummy bear implants

 

4 thoughts on “After Another Surgery

Leave a Reply

