If laugher is medicine, what’s your dose?


What do you do for a good laugh?

I was needing to yuck-it-up.

Usually, I can reframe from sad to happy easily if I need to. Or, if I just need to shift my point of view, or mood, I’ll grab a book of one of my bookshelves, and turn my attitude to gratitude. Recently, I was feeling low, and none of my positive mindset, spiritual, or how-to books were holding my interest. Walking the beach wasn’t the fix, either. I asked myself, “When’s the last time I had a good, long laugh?” It had been too long.

I searched You Tube the words “funny” and “laughter”. I watched lots of videos, turning most of them off within thirty seconds. “Stupid” or “foul” is how I’d categorize them. Lots of animal videos. My analytical and protective mind took over, not allowing anything to be funny. Is a cat falling off the counter again and again, funny? Did the cat get up there by itself? 

Then I looked up “Laughter Yoga”. I’m familiar with it, but the videos were educational, and like all the books on my shelves, they weren’t what I needed.

I needed to laugh.

The next day, I went to my local record store – a hole in the wall that sells oldies, and lots of hipster paraphernalia. My intention was to trade-in a pile of my CDs for a comedy CD. The store wasn’t taking any trades at this time because they had so many CDs in stock. I bought a well-known Bill Cosby routine. But it wasn’t the laugh I was looking for.

I went to the library to pick-up comedy CDs. Did you know “Comedy” is found under “Non-Fiction”? Now that’s funny! The library near my apartment is super small, and I was re-directed to the larger library across town. I put it on my “to-do” list. That evening, I gave You Tube another try. This time, I used the words “Comedy” and “Clean Stand up”. B-I-N-G-O! I laughed my head off for one hour. I got up to get tissue for my happy tears flowing down my face. I knew my neighbors could hear me laughing hysterically, which made me laugh harder at one point.

This one hour stand-up routine of Ellen DeGeneres is what the doctor ordered. It’s clean. It’s something we can relate to. It has nothing to do with cancer. Enjoy!

 Please share what makes you laugh.

4 thoughts on “If laugher is medicine, what’s your dose?

Leave a Reply

