If the shoe fits (autobiography in five short chapters)


walk image credit: Good Search

I love this poem. Whatever your current situation, this may fit. Maybe you’re upset over something, maybe you’re just ready to approach life from a new angle. (How about a TRY angle?)

If you’ve been re-diagnosed, and are in the sad, angry, or why-me stage, this could relate to cancer. It’s not making those emotions wrong, it’s giving you the opportunity to choose empowerment. And it’s okay if you don’t choose that right away. Emotions must be payed attention to, or they will move from whisper to scream, and that will affect your health even more.

If you’re a caregiver, the poem could be for how you play your role. Cancer is a heavy load to walk with someone. Note the word with. You alone, cannot carry this load. Share it. Ask for help. Give yourself “me” time. Lighten up. Love yourself.

Put on your walking shoes…

Autobiography in five short chapters

by Portia Nelson

 

CH 1

I walk down the street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I fall in. I am lost…I am helpless.

It isn’t my fault.

It takes forever to get out.

 

CH 2

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I pretend I don’t see it.

I fall in again. I can’t believe I’m in the same place.

But it isn’t my fault.

It still takes a long time to get out.

 

CH 3

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I see it is there.

I still fall in… it’s a habit.

My eyes are open.

I know where I am.

It is my fault.

I get out immediately.

 

CH 4

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I walk around it.

 

CH 5

I walk down another street.

 

Leave a Reply

